Department of Tourism and Culture

Arts Section

About Us

Yukon Arts Advisory Council

The Yukon Arts Advisory Council (YAAC) advises the Minister of Tourism and Culture on recommendations for funding for individual artists and arts organizations as well as reviews and monitors the effectiveness of the implementation of the Arts Policy and other programs under the Arts Act. 


YAAC meets to adjudicate applications from three funding programs: 

  • Arts Fund, Touring Artist Fund (both together 4 times per year), and
  • Arts Operating Funds (once per year).

The members are selected so as to achieve, so far as is reasonably practicable, effective representation of several arts disciplines, representation of several Yukon communities, and representation of the distinct interests of First Nation artists. 

Members of the YAAC are appointed by the Minister and serve 3-year terms. Members can be re-appointed for successive terms.

Yukon Arts Advisory Council 2015
Left-to-right: Bill Barnie, Julie Thorpe, Boyd Benjamin, Heidi Hehn, Annie Avery (Chair), Sandra Storey, Gail Calder, Derek Cooke, Corrie Gallienne (staff).

Current Yukon Arts Advisory Council 

 Annie Avery (Chair)  Term until Nov/2015
 Julie Thorpe  Term until Jan/2017
 Boyd Benjamin  Term until Jan/2017
 Sandra Storey  Term until Jan/2017
 Bill Barnie  Term until Jan/2018
 Derek Cooke  Term until Jan/2018
 Heidi Hehn  Term until Jan/2018
 Gail Calder  Term until Jan/2018