Department of Tourism and Culture

We are working to improve our online services. Visit our new beta website and share your feedback with us.

About the Department

Walking and Driving Tours

A Guide to Who Lies Beneath Whitehorse Cemeteries (1.1 MB)
The Guide to Whitehorse Cemeteries introduces you to the ordinary and extraordinary people interred in Pioneer and Grey Mountain cemeteries. Each person has a unique story waiting to be told which contributed to the city's history.   Written by Susan Twist.

Faro Trails (1.8 MB)
This map guides your through the back country around Faro via the many trails and cut lines. It leads to a variety of exciting wildlife viewing areas in the surrounding lakes and mountains. See the unique Fannin's Sheep on the 3km Mount Mye Trail or hike the 67km Dena Cho Trail.

Forty Mile Ch'ëdä Dëk (1.9 MB)
Forty Mile townsite is a part of the Forty Mile, Fort Cudahy and Fort Constantine Historic Site. It is located at the mouth of the FortyMile River where it empties into the Yukon River, 67km upstream from the Alaska/Yukon border and 88km downriver from Dawson City. This Historic Site is jointly owned and managed by the Yukon and Tr'ondek Hwech'in governments. It is illegal to remove anything from this site.

Haines Road (2 MB)
The Haines Road route follows a traditional First Nation overland trail from Klukshu Village to Goat Creek, British Columbia. The Haines Road was constructed during World War II as a project associated with the construction of the Alaska Highway, as another supply line was needed. Along this route you will find the trading post built in 1894 by Jack Dalton called Dalton Post.

North Canol Road (0.6 MB)
This no services, seasonal road provides access to the amazing wilderness of the eastern central Yukon. Build by the American army in 1943, the North Canol Road extends 232 km from Ross River to Macmillan Pass, at Northwest Territories border. The road passes by several big lakes and the spectacular Itsi mountain range all within the traditional Kaska territory.

Old Territorial Administration Building (0.6 MB)
The Administration Building represents the early work of Thomas William Fuller. Construction began in July 1901 and the building was completed and occupied by civil servants by December 1 of the same year! The history of the Administration Building parallels Dawson City’s evolution from an overgrown mining camp, to a prosperous capital, and finally an exciting tourist attraction in the heart of the Klondike.

The Overland Trail: Whitehorse to Dawson City (8.2 MB)
Laura Berton, Canadian Author Pierre Berton's mom once travelled a week on this trail at forty below in a an open sleigh in the 1920's from Whitehorse to Dawson City. The Overland Trail is not a single stretch of road. It is actually five sections of road divided by four major rivers- the Takhini, Yukon, Pelly and Stewart. There were 15 roadhouses along the trail at its height. Some are still standing. Artifacts and building remains all along the trail are evidenec of its history. Please leave them for others to discover, explore and appreciate. 

Ridge Road Heritage Trail (0.4 MB)
The Ridge Road winds between Bonanza and hunker creeks. It was originally built in 1899 as the first government built wagon road in Yukon. The trail opened as a heritage trail in 1996. Hikers should allow two days to walk the trail but a campground is within a day of either trailhead. Please leave historical artifacts in place for others to enjoy. Please do not disturb any trap boxes you may find along the way as licensed trappers use this road as a source of livelihood.
Aussi disponible en français.

Silver Trail (0.8 MB)
Winding through the traditional territory of the First Nation of Na-Cho Nyäk Dun, the Silver Trail was discovered in 1903. Rich in silver, gold and hard rock, it now offers an amazing experience in Yukon wilderness and mining history. Come experience hiking up Mount Haldane or visiting the Keno Hill sign post.

South Canol Road (0.4 MB)
This seasonal road provides access to the wilderness in the south central Yukon and the Pelly Mountain ecoregion. The South Canol Road follows along ridges, often above the tree line, that provide many scenic views stretching 230 km from Johnsons Crossing to Ross River.

Venus Mill: John Conrad's Jewel (1.5 MB)
The Venus Mill was built in 1908 and eased the high cost of shipping silver ore out of the territory. The mill depended on an aerial tramway to transport silver ore to it and its own series of water-and-gravity-propelled-steps to convert it to concentrate and bag it for shipment. The mill and slope are now unstable and dangerous, so please do not stop at this site along the South Klondike Highway. It is closed to the public.

Viewing Yukon’s Natural History Attractions (2.5MB)

Yukon rocks record over a billion years of geologic history and is home to four species of amphibians, 63 species of mammals, 224 species of birds, 1, 184 species of plants and over 1500 species of insects. Some regions of the territory are becoming increasingly known for their quality and frequency of the northern lights. Come explore with this guide and see what you will find.

 

Viewing Yukon Railway Heritage (1.8 MB)
The White Pass & Yukon Route (WP&YR) railway was built in the days of the Klondike Gold Rush to connect tidewater at Skagway, on the Alaskan coast, with Whitehorse, at the head of navigation on the Yukon River. This guide describes the history of the railways in Yukon, where many engines are currently protected in museums, including the rare Baldwin Vauclain Compound, located at the Dawson City Museum.
Aussi disponible en français.

Walking Tour Burwash Landing (2.0 MB)

Situated on the southeast shore of beautiful Kluane Lake, the community of Burwash Landing is rich in First Nation’s culture and history. During the 1904 Kluane Gold Rush, the Jacquot brothers used their cabin as a small trading post. During the Alaska Highway construction, the Jacquots ran the only business in the Yukon at Bear Creek Lodge and their operation included a hotel, restaurant, a general store and a big game outfitting business. Be sure to visit the Kluane Museum of Natural history and the Ice house.

 

Walking Tour Carmacks (3.6MB)

Located in the traditional territory of the Little Salmon Carmacks First Nation, Carmacks is surrounded by a system of trails and water routes that connect Mayo, Stewart Crossing, Pelly Crossing, Champagne, Klukshu and Aishihik. George Carmacks built a trading post here before the gold rush and in 1898, the North-West Mounted Police established Tantalus Post to monitor water traffic.
Aussi disponible en français.

 

Walking Tour Carcross (2.1 MB)

In 1899, the community was named Caribou Crossing, but in 1904, Bishop Bompas requested the name be changed to Carcross. It was made official in 1906. Before the White Pass & Yukon Route built a railway to the town site in 1900, Carcross consisted of a North-West Mounted Police post and associated reserve on the north side of the narrows and a First Nation community on the south. An enjoyable walk around town will include a visit to the White Pass & Yukon Route Complex, designated Canadian Heritage Railway Station and the Caribou Hotel a designated Yukon Historic Site.
Aussi disponible en français.

 

Walking Tour Dawson City Cemeteries (0.6 MB)
Walk through and find the graves of the colourful characters of the Klondike Goldrush. Find the many legendary figures such as Father William Judge, Big Alex McDonald and Percy DeWolfe and many others in the Dawson City’s cemeteries.

 

Walking Tour Dawson City (South) (2.2 MB)

After gold was discovered on Bonanza Creek in 1896, Joseph Ladue staked out a town site at the mouth of the Klondike River so that the riverboats would have a landing spot for supplies. The historic and unique buildings of Dawson range in age from 1896 to present day. After the gold rush, the decline in population in Dawson City led to the abandonment of many of the buildings. In recent years, a number of the historical structures have been restored or rehabilitated by many agencies and private individuals.
Aussi disponible en français.

 

Walking Tour Haines Junction (0.3 MB)
This walking tour takes you around historic Haines Junction where you can check out how the different eras in Yukon’s history has affected the community. Check out buildings that were part of the highway construction camp nested along the beautiful mountains of Kluane National Park.

 

Walking Tour Keno City (0.4 MB)
Keno City began in 1919 when silver ore was found on Lightening Creek and by 1920 it was a busy community with cabins, a stable and a hotel. After the road was built between Keno and Mayo, Keno became the centre of a thriving district. Today Keno is home to a small population of artists, miners and old-timers. There are many hiking trails to enjoy through the historic mining areas, scenic valleys and alpine meadows.
Aussi disponible en français.

Walking Tour Mayo (1 MB)
Mayo’s history dates back to 1886 when Alfred Henry Mayo operated a post at the mouth of the Stewart River. In 1903, a cabin was built at the confluence of the Mayo and Stewart River during the Duncan Creek gold strike. But most of Mayo’s public buildings come from the economic boom that started in 1919 with the discovery of silver ore on Keno Hill.

 

Walking Tour Old Crow (1.6 MB)
Walk around and learn the history of Yukon's most northern community, located at the confluence of the Crow and Porcupine Rivers.Visit St. Luke's Anglican church where the second aboriginal woman was ordained in 1987. After walking around the community, there are also a few hiking trails to explore.

Walking Tour Teslin (4.2 MB)
The Tlingit people traded in this area for centuries, but it wasn’t until 1903 that Tom Smith left his Pelly River trading post to relocate to Teslin. The Hudson’s Bay Co. soon followed in 1904. Teslin became a larger community when the Alaska Highway was built in 1942, which allowed more access than just boat or trail. Be sure to visit the George Johnston Museum, Old Alaska Highway and many other beautiful historical buildings. Aussi disponible en français.  

 

Walking Tour Watson Lake (0.6 MB)
Watson Lake is the first major Yukon settlement along the Alaska Highway, and is known as the Gateway to the Yukon.  Before construction of the Alaska Highway, planes destined for Alaska stopped in Watson Lake to use the fuel facilities. Most of the buildings in Watson Lake are made of timber construction by chinking logs together, including the Air Terminal Building.
Aussi disponible en français.

 

Yukon River Heritage: An illustrated introduction for travellers (5.16 MB)
This publication offers a glimpse of some of the heritage sites along the Yukon River. It is intended to give you an idea of the timeless heritage and beauty of one of the world’s great rivers. The booklet is not a comprehensive history and should not be used for navigation purposes. There are books, maps, charts and guides that provide detailed histories or planning and route information.
Aussi disponible en français.