Department of Tourism and Culture

About the Department

Historic Sites

Fort Selkirk (2.1MB)
Fort Selkirk is a living cultural heritage site and a cherished reminder of the past. Fort Selkirk provides a rare glimpse into the native way of life and a look at the history of trade and settlement in the north. This guide will help you explore the wonderful townsite and understand how life was here, before roads. Find out more about Robert Campbell, the Selkirk First Nation and how this small community was a trade and supply centre.
Aussi disponible en français.

Forty Mile Ch'ëdä Dëk (1.9 MB)
Forty Mile townsite is a part of the Forty Mile, Fort Cudahy and Fort Constantine Historic Site. It is located at the mouth of the FortyMile River where it empties into the Yukon River, 67km upstream from the Alaska/Yukon border and 88km downriver from Dawson City. This Historic Site is jointly owned and managed by the Yukon and Tr'ondek Hwech'in governments. It is illegal to remove anything from this site.
Aussi disponible en français.

Herschel Island: Qikiqtaruk A Guide to the Historic Resources (6MB)
Herschel Island Park is the first territorial park established in Yukon. This island is a very important  part of the traditional homeland of the Inuvialuit and the history of the Western Arctic. The historic resources on Herschel Island are the products of two distinct cultures and are a reflection of the influences they had on each other. Because of its unique location and its diverse cultural history, Herschel Island remains a special part of Yukon's rich heritage.

Rampart House (15MB)
Rampart House Historic Site is located near the mouth of Boundary Creek and right next to the Boundary between the United States and Canada. Rampart is an important historical and archaeological site with many fragile remains so please do not harm buildings or collect souvenirs. Rampart House is protected under the Vuntut Gwitchin land claim agreement and the Historic Resources Act and jointly owned by the Yukon and Vuntut Gwitchin Governments.

S.S. Tutshi (1.8MB)
The S.S. Tutshi was built by the British Yukon Navigation Company in 1917 at Carcross and was pulled out of service in 1955. In 1971, Yukon Government purchased the S.S. Tutshi and began the restoration process. In 1990, the boat tragically caught fire. The S.S. Tutshi Memorial and Community Space is dedicated to the S.S. Tutshi and its role in the area's tourism industry. Click here for the website.
Aussi disponible en français.

Venus Mill: John Conrad's Jewel (1.5 MB)
The Venus Mill was built in 1908 and eased the high cost of shipping silver ore out of the territory. The mill depended on an aerial tramway to transport silver ore to it and its own series of water-and-gravity-propelled-steps to convert it to concentrate and bag it for shipment. The mill and slope are now unstable and dangerous, so please do not stop at this site along the South Klondike Highway. It is closed to the public.

The Wreck of A.J. Goddard (2.1 MB)
This Klondike Gold Rush era sternwheeler, was discovered more than 100 years later in 2008, at the bottom of Lake Laberge. This short history and story of the discovery and exploration of the A.J. Goddard over the following years. Author(s): Lindsey Thomas, Doug Davidge and John Pollack.
Publication Date: 2012.